languages languagesicone
site loader
site loader
October 27, 2020 Dream-pop duo The Ghost of Helags share ‘Night Summer Waiting’ video

Dream-pop duo The Ghost of Helags share ‘Night Summer Waiting’ video

Driven by its crisp electronic percussion, ‘Night Summer Waiting’ recalls the majestic dream-pop masterworks of Still Corners or Chromatics. The song was written earlier in 2020, at a small Italian hilltop town under the fading Summer sun.

“Watching the world with restless eyes… keep up, don’t fall behind” sings Teresa Woischiski, lyrics defiant with notions of escapism, yet tinted with a world-wary melancholy. “Night Summer Waiting, what you keep within, you can do without”, she lulls, her crystalline vocal rising through layers of dreamy atmospheric synthesisers and elegiac piano motifs.

The Ghost of Helags are singer-songwriter and producer duo Teresa Woischiski and John Alexander Ericson. Hailing from Sweden and now located in Berlin, the pairing combine the dream pop sounds of their Scandinavian roots with the electronic nuances inspired by their newfound home and beyond. ‘Night Summer Waiting’ is the latest in a string of innovative and exploratory tracks by the duo and follows recent 2020 singles including the Chemical Brothers-inspired ‘Parallel’ and the seductive Lynchian-inspired synth-pop of recent single ‘Chemistry’. Other highlights of their continually expanding repertoire include the New Music Friday playlisted debut single ‘I Carry Your Heart’, ‘Autobahn Lullaby’ (a tribute to their Berlin home) and 2019’s hymnal ‘The Santa Rosa Song’.

Follow The Ghost Of Helags:

Website / Facebook / Twitter / Instagram

October 27, 2020 Indie electronic musician Mary Mi releases EP, Carnival Sounds

Indie electronic musician Mary Mi releases EP, Carnival Sounds

Mary Mi is a swedish artist, songwriter and producer that grew up in Vänersborg, but is now based in Örebro, Sweden. Her playful tunes are influenced by indie/folkmusic, which makes an interesting mix when the melodies meet her melancholic lyrics.

​In 2019 Mary Mi released her debut EP called ”019-18” with lyrics based on colorful heartbreaks and moral dilemmas. Later the same year she released the single ‘‘rumbling applause”, inviting a messy, electronic sound to the folk melodies. 

Follow Mary Mi:

Facebook / Instagram

October 26, 2020 Avant-garde musician Raven Artson shares ‘Whatever’ music video

Avant-garde musician Raven Artson shares ‘Whatever’ music video

Having captured the attention of i-D, The Quietus and EARMILK, Los Angeles based creative crooner Raven Artson combines his internal monologue with enigmatic pop culture and underground art.

Returning with new single ‘Whatever’, Raven delivers a powerful testimony; to empower your authentic self. Intertwined with a synth-fuelled melody and a hint of autotune, a detail which compliments his ethereal vocals; the new woozy bop sees Raven step out of the shadows to present his most confrontational outpour of emotions yet.

He says: “Whatever was written in a stream of consciousness, the words just poured out of me. When finished the brutal honesty struck me. I created a mirror, forcing myself to look into my own eyes.”

As a highly ambitious singer-songwriter who creative directs his own shoots and produces for artists including Sevdaliza, Pip Blom and Ray Fuego, Raven can just about do anything. More recently he started curating his own interdisciplinary shows, which has led fashion designers like Hardeman and Hanger Inc. to collaborate with artist like himself, True Blue, Beskhen and Cosima.

With a new EP, Raven is ready to take the next step in his career: “As a person I try to be as honest as possible in my relationships. It’s exciting to share music that’s just as genuine.”

Follow Raven Artson:

Facebook / Twitter / Instagram / Soundcloud

October 23, 2020 Downtempo composer Nuit Oceān uplifts with EP, Fire Divine

Downtempo composer Nuit Oceān uplifts with EP, Fire Divine

   Credit: Nuit Ocean

Music producer Nuit  Oceān releases his inspiring EP Fire Divine via ROUGE NEON RECORDS today, just in time for winding down this weekend. 

Born with the name Steve Mesmin, Nuit Oceān is a well-traveled French composer, that has roots in the DRC and Algeria. His mother would indulge him by playing the saxophone frequently. These factors would lead him on his own musical journey, and we are so grateful for that.

This EP shows the essence of vulnerability and strength in one breath. It is a work of art that can be interpreted in multiple meanings, but we can all agree that this EP is fragrant and colorful as well as easy on the ears. 

Nuit Oceān elaborates on the concept behind the EP: “I always have this “mantra” in my head during the creating and recording process: “When there is nothing left. When you no longer have the strength to move forward. There he is, in each of us… The FIRE DIVINE guides us to a better version of ourselves, towards a brighter future. Let it flow.”

Follow Nuit Oceān:

 FacebookTwitter –  Soundcloud  – YoutubeInstagramSpotify